ALF Student Appreciation Award

Congratulations to the winners of the 2023 ALF Student Appreciation Award:       

UBC – Cheyenne Campbell, Fort Nelson First Nation

UVic – Ashley Roussel, Sweetgrass First Nation

TRU – Bailie Copeland, Red River M├ętis

Nominations for the next round of awards will open next fall.

About the Award

This award is given to law students of Indigenous ancestry who have shown consistent dedication to Indigenous people in the field of law. It recognizes an individual contribution to the Aboriginal Lawyers Forum (ALF) in working to enhance the stature and influence of Indigenous people in the legal profession. There will be three awards given, one for each of the three law schools in BC.


To be eligible for the award, a nominee must:

  • be a student at one of the three BC law schools;
  • not be a current member of the ALF Executive;
  • have demonstrated outstanding contribution in the area Indigenous people in the law, including any or all of the following activities:  
    • supporting ALF initiatives;  
    • mentoring and supporting Indigenous law students;  
    • involvement in an Indigenous or Aboriginal Law Students’ Association or similar group;  
    • contributing to programs and services that support Indigenous law students;  
Amount of Award

The recipients of the 2023 ALF Student Appreciation Award were awarded $1000 each.


The 2023 ALF Student Appreciation Award was presented at the 13th Annual Holiday Banquet on Friday, November 24, 2023 at the Fairmont Waterfront Hotel in Vancouver, BC.


2023 – Cheyenne Campbell, Allard | Ashley Roussel, UVic | Bailie Copeland, TRU

2022 – Chelsea Gladstone, Allard | Jaxxen Wylie, UVic | Tara-Lynn Wilson, TRU 

2021 – Cassandra Sawers, Allard | Chelsea Cameron, UVic | Jamie-Lee Keith, TRU 

2019 – Jana Chouinard, TRU | Amanda Richards, Allard | Katelyn Beale, UVic

2018 – Kateri Koster, TRU | Veronica Martisius, UVic | Shawnee Monchalin, Allard 

2017 – Dawn Johnson, Allard | Rachelle Trenholm, UVic | Charlotte Munroe, TRU

2016 – Dustin C. Gagnon, TRU