Community Service Award

About the Award

To recognize the valuable contributions of our members serving the communities in our province, the CBABC sponsors Community Service Awards in each county. A limited number of awards are awarded in each county. The awards honour CBA members who have demonstrated outstanding dedication, service and commitment to the community. Service to the profession and contributions of a legal nature are not considered for these awards.


Any individual who is a Canadian citizen, or any organization with its primary place of business in Canada, with the exception of current CBABC or CBA staff, current Members of the CBABC Provincial Council, or current Members of the CBABC Executive. The award may not be made posthumously.

Nomination, Selection and Presentation

Nominations are sought in April. The Board of Directors selects the recipient and the award is presented by the CBABC President at the last Provincial Council meeting of the fiscal year, usually held in June. 


The award is a brass plate on a wooden plaque.

Award Recipient for 2016

Kevin MacDonald, partner, Clark Wilson LLP

Awarded to a CBA member demonstrating outstanding dedication, service and commitment to the community. Mr. MacDonald has given thousands of hours of his time over the years to organizations such as St. Thomas More Collegiate, Covenant House and many others. He has also helped raise nearly $1.2M for local charities through cofounding and running the annual HOOPLAW Charity Basketball Tournament for more than 20 years.

Previous Recipients

  • 2014 - Kim Alicia Karras, Frances M. Kelly
  • 2012 - James Sutherland, Jeff Zilkowsky, Georgialee Lang
  • 2010 - Jennifer Chow, Allan Donovan and Janneke Lewis
  • 2008 - Theresa Arsenault, Perry Ehrlich, James Legh, Suzette Narbonne and Linda Robertson
  • 2006 - Elizabeth B Lyall, Patrick J Julian and Peter CP Behie
  • 2005 - Lorianna Bennett, Christopher Doll, Richard Molstad, Alisa Noda and Gary Wilson
  • 2004 - Graeme V R Keirstead, Jonathan Lampman, Hugh McLellan, Linda Parsons and Mark Virgin
  • 2003 - Michael B Ellis, Gavin Hume, QC, Linda D Locke, Michael A McVea and James (Jim) Stout
  • 2002 - Halldor Bjarnason, Gary M Brooke and G Glen Ridgway, QC
  • 2001 - William Tierney Lane, Paul Levy, Ronald MacIsaac, Irene G Peters and Roy James Stewart, QC
  • 2000 - Murray Sadler, QC, Michael Coleman, Tommy Tao, Ronald Lou-Poy, Trevin Rogers and Paul Mitchell

Additional Information 

CBABC Awards
(604) 687-3404 or 1 (888) 687-3404