Equality and Diversity Award

Kamaljit Lehal, the 2019 Equality & Diversity Award recipient, has worked tirelessly to end violence against women and has advocated for changes to laws and policies that compromise the safety of immigrant women.

About the Award

The Award celebrates the accomplishments of a CBABC member who has succeeded in advancing equality in the legal profession or generally in British Columbia. The Award recognizes significant contributions to improving the status of women, people with disabilities, people of colour, Aboriginal people or peoples, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgendered, or two-spirited people or people who are members of historically marginalized communities.


Candidates must be individual lawyers who are members of the CBABC. Groups are not eligible for consideration.

Consideration will be given to candidates who have successfully championed equality and promoted understanding of diversity through education, policy development, advocacy (including litigation), creating or leading organizational change, volunteerism with equality-seeking groups, or other means.

Consideration will be given to candidates who have worked on race, disability, sexual orientation, gender or other diversity issues in their communities, in government or government agencies, within the institutions of the legal profession (including CBA, the Law Society, CLE, LSS, the judiciary, or the law schools), or elsewhere.

Nomination, Selection and Presentation

Nominations are sought in April. The Board of Directors selects the recipient and the award is presented by the CBABC President at the last Provincial Council meeting of the fiscal year, usually held in June. 


The award is a specially-etched crystal globe.

Previous Recipients

  • 2018 - Zara Suleman
  • 2017 - Adrienne Smith
  • 2016 - The Honourable Donna Martinson, QC
  • 2014 - Janine L. Benedet
  • 2013 - Benjamin D. Levine
  • 2012 - Jennifer Spencer
  • 2011 - Jennifer Conkie, QC
  • 2010 - Sarah Rauch
  • 2009 - Kuan Foo
  • 2008 - Valli Chettiar
  • 2007 - Anna Fung, QC
  • 2006 - Anne Bhanu Chopra
  • 2005 - Halldor Bjarnason
  • 2004 - Joseph J Arvay, QC
Additional Information 

CBABC Awards
(604) 687-3404 or 1 (888) 687-3404