Nominees must be CBABC members and a resident of B.C., but cannot be current members of the CBABC Board of Directors.


This award recognizes outstanding contributions by a member of CBABC in the area of pro bono work.


Nominations are sought in the spring. The CBABC Board of Directors selects the recipient. The nominee must consent to the nomination and must be nominated by three CBABC members in good standing.


The award is presented by the CBABC President at the last Provincial Council meeting of the fiscal year, usually held in June. The award is an etched glass sculpture depicting a stone pillar.


2023 – Michael Feder, KC

2022 – Tim Louis and Edward G. Wong

2021 - Marilyn Sandford, QC

2020 - Simon Coval, QC

2019 - David Wotherspoon

2018 - Gregory Heywood

2017 - Donna Turko

2016 - Sheila Tucker

2015 - Claire Hunter

2014 - Jamie F. Maclaren, QC

2013 - Donald J. Sorochan, QC

2012 - Bruce F. Fraser, QC

2011 - John-Paul Boyd

2008 - Angus Gunn

2007 - Carman Overholt, QC

2006 - Dugald Christie

2005 - Darrell Roberts, QC

2004 - Ronald F T MacIsaac

Names, designations and honorifics are reflected as they were when the award was presented.

Additional Information 

CBABC Awards
604.687.3404 or 1.888.687.3404