Harry Rankin, QC Pro Bono Award

Nominations are now closed.
The winner will be announced at the June Provincial Council Meeting on June 5, 2021.

In memory of Harry Rankin, QC’s immense support of access to justice for the poor, this award acknowledges commitment to pro bono service. Simon Coval, QC has been a longstanding coordinator of the Access Pro Bono's Court of Appeal roster program, providing clients with summary advice and merits screening, and sometimes representing them himself. He has also been instrumental in promoting pro bono culture in the profession by providing mentorship and support to many young lawyers providing pro bono service.

About the Award

In recognition of the immense contribution of Harry Rankin, QC in supporting access to justice for the poor, the CBABC resolved to establish an annual reward to recognize outstanding contributions by a member of CBABC in the area of pro bono work.


Any resident of BC (except a current member of the Executive of the CBABC) is eligible for the award.

Nomination, Selection and Presentation

Nominations are sought in the spring. The Board of Directors selects the recipient and the award is presented by the CBABC President at the last Provincial Council meeting of the fiscal year, usually held in June. 

Previous Recipients

  • 2019 - David Wotherspoon
  • 2018 - Gregory Heywood
  • 2017 - Donna Turko
  • 2016 - Sheila Tucker
  • 2015 - Claire Hunter
  • 2014 - Jamie F. Maclaren, QC
  • 2013 - Donald J. Sorochan, QC
  • 2012 - Bruce F. Fraser, QC
  • 2011 - John-Paul Boyd
  • 2008 - Angus Gunn
  • 2007 - Carman Overholt, QC
  • 2006 - Dugald Christie
  • 2005 - Darrell Roberts, QC
  • 2004 - Ronald F T MacIsaac
Additional Information 

CBABC Awards
(604) 687-3404 or 1 (888) 687-3404