President's Medal

The 2024 President’s Medal was awarded to Connor Bildfell.

Connor is Chair of CBABC’s Access to Justice Committee where he works passionately to improve access to justice for everyone, regardless of income. He played a key role in the CBABC submission: Who’s Getting Left Behind? The Impact of the Ongoing Digital Transformation of the Court System on Access to Justice in British Columbia. He oversaw CBABC’s first-ever Tech Drive – over 160 used electronics were distributed to remote and Indigenous communities throughout B.C. In his own civil litigation practice, Connor has taken on pro bono cases, representing marginalized organizations like the Council of Canadians with Disabilities and the Ontario Native Women’s Association.

About the Award

It is a bronze medal on a blue ribbon, framed under glass. Awarded by the CBABC president, the President’s Medal recognizes one or more of the following: legal academic proficiency, outstanding works of legal scholarship, significant contribution to the profession during the President's term.


This award is discretionary and no award need be granted in any given year. No more than one award may be given in any calendar year.


The award is presented at the Provincial Council meeting held in June.

Selection Process

The award shall be granted at the discretion of the President. The recipient, if any, will be selected by the President in his/her sole discretion.


2023 - Louisa Winn, KC

2022 - Isabel Jackson

2021 - Richard Fyfe, QC

2020 - Derek LaCroix, QC

2019 - Wayne Robertson, CC

2018 - The Hon. Justice Thomas J. Crabtree

2017 - Tina Dion, QC

2016 - Aleem Bharmal

2015 - Bill Veenstra

2014 - R. C. (Tino) Di Bella

2013 - Eric Gottardi

2012 - David Dundee

2011 - Leonard T Doust, QC

2010 - Sharon Matthews

2009 - Judith Janzen

2008 - Arlene H Henry, QC

2007 - Arthur Close, QC

2006 - William T Clarke

2005 - Diana Dorey & Frank Kraemer

2004 - Kenneth Armstrong

2003 - Sharon Matthews

2002 - Margaret Sasges

2001 - Sandy Jakab-Hancock

2000 - Clare Barry

1999 - Dean David Cohen

1998 - Randy Walker

1997 - Penny Bain & Donald Yule

1996 - Jeff Scouten

Names, designations and honorifics are reflected as they were when the award was presented.

Additional Information 

CBABC Awards
604.687.3404 or 1.888.687.3404