Women Lawyers Forum Rising Star Award

CBABC congratulates the recipient of the 2023 Award, Julia Lockhart.

Julia is known for her demonstrating excellence in her legal practice despite being early in her career.

Following her clerkship with Justice Rothstein at the Supreme Court of Canada, she was called to the bar in 2013.  She is now a partner at Nathanson, Schachter & Thompson LLP, where she focusses on complex commercial disputes and challenging administrative issues.

Her contributions to the profession in her first decade as a lawyer have hugely been impactful. From coaching law students for the UBC Laskin Moot to writing and presenting for CLEBC. Most significantly, she wrote an article advocating for better recognition from the courts of the burdens faced by parents during the pandemic. 

Nominations for this award will open in 2025

The WLF Rising Star Award celebrates the accomplishments of a woman lawyer who has achieved tremendous professional success over the course of ten years of practice or less, and who has contributed to improving the legal community in British Columbia as a whole.

The WLF Rising Star Award is intended to recognize and promote women lawyers who have made outstanding contributions over a shorter tenure and to encourage them to continue on this impressive trajectory.


Nominees must be CBABC members but cannot be members of the WLF National or Branch Executives.  Nominees must also have 10 years of call or less. WLF welcomes and encourages the nomination of any lawyer who is a woman (both cisgender and transgender).


In addition to the above, consideration will be given to: 

  • Professional achievements, including working on complex or significant transactions or cases, trial successes, business/client development, and/or innovating workplace culture.   
  • Other evidence of leadership, innovation, and vision.   
  • Participation in legal associations, societies, institutions, and/or the impact of the nominee’s engagement/activities within and/or outside of the legal community.  


Nominations are accepted for a minimum of 60 days between November and January. There must be ideally three but no less than two Nominators, one of which must be a CBABC member. Further nomination requirements are included in the nomination form. Submitted nomination packages are valid for two consecutive award periods. 

The award is granted at the discretion of the WLF Selection Committee, formed for that purpose by the current WLF Chair and including the WLF Past Chair and CBABC President. Nominators cannot be members of the current year’s Selection Committee.   


The Rising Star Award will be presented every two years during the WLF Awards Gala.   

Additional Information 

CBABC Awards
604.687.3404 or 1.888.687.3404