Appointment to the Prince Rupert Port Authority

  • February 14, 2013

Source: Transport Canada

OTTAWA — The Honourable Denis Lebel, Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities, today announced the appointment of Mr. Robert Bruce Ellis Hallsor to the Prince Rupert Port Authority for a three-year term.

"I am pleased that Mr. Hallsor has agreed to serve on the board of directors of the Prince Rupert Port Authority," said Minister Lebel. "The authority will benefit greatly from his legal expertise and wealth of experience in municipal, provincial and community organizations."

Mr. Hallsor is the managing partner at British Columbia's oldest law firm, Crease Harman, and runs a successful commercial practice with 30 partners and employees. He is a past president of the Victoria Bar Association, past national chair of the Canadian Bar Association section on Wills, Estates, and Trusts, and has worked for the provincial government. Mr. Hallsor holds a Juris Doctor law degree from the University of Victoria and a bachelor of arts in History from the University of British Columbia.

In addition, Mr. Hallsor has been recognized for his active and longstanding community volunteer work, which includes being a founding public member of the British Columbia College of Social Workers, sitting on the Provincial Child Care Council from 2003-2011and serving as honorary counsel for Scouts Canada in British Columbia and the Yukon. In 2003, he received the Queen's Golden Jubilee medal and in 2012 the Queen's Diamond Jubilee medal for community service.

The Prince Rupert Port Authority is the Canada Port Authority (CPA) established to manage the Port of Prince Rupert under the Canada Marine Act. Eighteen CPAs now make up Canada's national port system. The CPAs are non-share capital corporations incorporated under the Canada Marine Act that are of strategic significance to Canada's trade. Their effective operation contributes to Canada's global competitiveness.

– 30 –


Geneviève Sicard
Press Secretary
Office of the Honourable Denis Lebel
Minister of Transport, Infrastructure and Communities