2017 Bencher Election | Nov 15, 2017

  • October 31, 2017

An election will be held in Vancouver County (11 Benchers to be elected) and Westminster County (3 to be elected) on November 15, 2017 for a two-year term beginning January 1, 2018 and ending December 31, 2019.

Voting in this election will be done electronically through eBallot’s secure online voting platform, and information on accessing the online ballot was emailed to members of Vancouver and Westminster Counties on October 26, 2017.

For information on the election process, read 2017 Bencher Election - Information.

Candidate biographies and election

CBABC members running in Vancouver County

  • Jamie Maclaren
  • Jasmin Z. Ahmad 
  • Edward Wang
  • Brook Greenberg 
  • Jeff Campbell, QC
  • Michael Thomas 
  • Vivienne Stewart
  • Jennifer Chow, QC
  • Elizabeth J. Rowbotham
  • Chilwin Cheng
  • Arthur Grant 
  • Sharon D. Matthews, QC
  • Lisa Hamilton 
  • Steven McKoen 
  • Tony Wilson, QC 
  • Ashley Syer
  • Jeevyn Dhaliwal

CBABC members running in Westminster County:

  • Phil Riddell 
  • Martin Finch, QC
  • Christopher A. McPherson

For the remaining districts, Benchers are declared continued without election or elected by acclamation, so no vote will be required: read Benchers Declared Continued without Election or Declared Elected by Acclamation.

Congratulations to Past President Michael Welsh who was elected by acclamation for Okanagan County.