Call for Nominations: Section Representatives to Provincial Council

  • February 07, 2024

Join Provincial Council! As the advisory body to the Board of Directors, members of Provincial Council bring the concerns and interests of lawyers in their region or Section to the attention of the CBABC Board and bring the latest developments in our profession back to members.

There are 18 representatives from Sections who are elected to Provincial Council. This year, there are twelve members to be elected for two-year terms. As a result of changes to the bylaws at the AGM, there are no longer “Remaining Section” positions and instead groups of Sections are designated a representative.


Any member of a Section Executive on December 31, 2023 is eligible to stand for election. If elected, you must maintain CBA membership throughout your term of office, but do not need to remain on the Section Executive.  You just need to keep in communication with the Section Chair. 

Complete the attached Nomination Form and Candidate Statement and send it to, no later than 5pm on Tuesday, March 5, 2024.  If you have questions, please contact the Chief Executive Officer, Kerry Simmons, KC at For details, please see the Bylaws and Governance Policy


Where a Section Representative represents only one Section (e.g. Immigration), the entire Executive of that Section is eligible to vote. Where a Section representative represents a number of Sections (like Workplace Investigations/Employment/Labour), the Chair, Vice-Chair and Law & Policy Liaison of each related Executive is eligible to vote. Those eligible to vote (the Electorate) will be notified. Those standing for election will receive a list of the Electorate related to their position. Voting will take place electronically from March 7 – 28.

Elections Required

Section Number to be Elected Candidate Completing Term Electorate
SAGDA 1 Emily MacKinnon 12-member Executive of SAGDA
CCCA BC 1 Sybila Valdivieso 10-member Executive of CCCA BC
Wills & Trusts/
Elder Law
1 Hana Felix 12 (3 from each of the 4 Sections)
Small Practice
1 No incumbent 4-member Executive of General/Solo/Small Practice
Real Estate 1 Michael Drouillard 6 (3 from each of the 2 Sections)
Aboriginal Law 1 No incumbent 6 (3 from each of the 2 Sections)
Senior Counsel 1 Karen Liang 5-member Executive of Senior Counsel
1 Kirsten Hume Scrimshaw 9 (3 from each of the 3 Sections)
Immigration 1 No incumbent 8-member Executive of Immigration
Public Sector 1 Erika Brimacombe 6-member Executive of Public Sector
2 Matt Janssen
No incumbent
12 (3 from each of the 4 Sections)
Total 12    

No elections are required in 2024 for ALF, WLF, Young Lawyers, Family/Childrens Law, Criminal Justice, Civil Lit/Class Action/Construction

Download the Nomination Form      Submit Your Nomination